Middle School / Books Rule!
Recommended books for grades 5-8

THIS IS WHAT HAPPY LOOKS LIKE, by Jennifer E. Smith

happy
The story: A typo delivers an unexpected email to Ellie O’Neill from a fun and funny guy on the other side of the country, and an online correspondence is born. Ellie is soon looking forward to the daily, even hourly, messages from GDL. It’s unlike any friendship she’s ever had: she doesn’t even know his name. For Graham, getting to know a girl without first telling her his name is a big plus…because it’s a name she already knows, and most girls can’t get past it. When fate brings a movie shoot to her small town, Ellie could never have dreamed it was because teen heartthrob Graham Larkin planned it that way–and by the time she figures it out, it may already be too late.

Mrs. Friend’s opinion: Here’s a romance novel for fans of Sarah Dessen and Elizabeth Eulberg. There’s a girl, there’s a boy, there’s a problem that makes it look like nothing can work out between them–but with just the right amount of serendipity, everything turns out at the end. If you like this one, you should also check out Ms. Smith’s “The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight,” which is just as good.

Advertisements

No Responses to “THIS IS WHAT HAPPY LOOKS LIKE, by Jennifer E. Smith”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: